Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Good Morning Bibliophiles!

Today I am reviewing another book that has been on my TBR pile forever, Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo. This is the first installment in a trilogy and takes place in the same universe as the Six of Crows books and the newly released book, King of Scars.

Shadow & Bone takes place in a country called Ravka. There we meet two orphans, a boy and a girl in an orphanage. A group of magic wielders called Grisha came to test the children and see if either of them are Grisha, but neither of them passed.

The story then flashforwards to years later when the girl, Alina, and the boy, Mal, are both serving in the King’s army. While the army is making their way into the Shadow Fold, a cloak of darkness over the land that contains killer monsters, Mal is hurt and to save him, Alina lets out a power she never knew was in her. 

Alina learns that she is the Sun Summoner, one of the most powerful Grisha to exist. Alina is plucked from the battlefield and put into training with the Darkling, leader of all the Grisha. This is so she can fulfill a destiny that she never knew existed, and nothing is as it seems.

One thing I love about this book is the elusive Darkling. His character has many sides and I had so much fun reading the scenes he is in. There is definitely a strong connection between the Darkling and Alina, and I was rooting for them over Mal and Alina.

Finishing the book, I finally understand what all the hype is about! I literally could not put Shadow & Bone so I sat in my common room and devoured it chapter by chapter. Since I bought a box set of the series, I will be beginning Siege & Storm as soon as possible!

I give this book

Love you guys!
XOXO Shelby Grace

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *