Advertisements
Books,  Reviews,  Young Adult

Bloodleaf by Crystal Smith

Good Morning,

Today I am so excited to be reviewing Bloodleaf by  Crystal Smith! Bloodleaf was released March 12th and is a wonderful fantasy novel with magic and mystery. I checked this book out at my local library and was so happy I did! So here is my review!!

Summary

Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed.

As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her. But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?

Plot

When I read the description for this book, I was afraid it would be similar to the other royal fantasy novels I had read in the past. I found, however, that Smith wrote a truly unique story! I enjoyed the twist that it was the Princess being persecuted by her own people and not by a neighboring kingdom. I was also glad that even though it was a Young Adult book, it still went a little dark and I even teared up a few times while reading. I thought the romance was good as well as the friendships throughout the book!

Characters

I really enjoyed Aurelia’s character! I thought she was strong and compassionate despite growing up surrounded by hate. She didn’t take any crap from Zan or Nathanial and I really loved her relationship with Kat. I also really enjoyed seeing  Lisette’s transformation from the beginning to the end of the book!

Last Thoughts

Overall this was a fun and quick read for me! Fans of Ash Princess and Everless would also probably love this book as well!

Rating

I give this book

4 Nutella

Love you all!

XOX Shelby Grace

Advertisements

I enjoy fashion, reading, and music. I am a superhero nerd and love comics. I live for theater and love to perform in shows. I own a blog where I review books and interview authors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: